Award Categories

2016 Winners Announced!

Congratulations to this years winners and finalists!

Young Professional of the Year 2016

Apprentice OPITO

This award recognises the apprentices making their mark in the UK oil and gas industry; those who have delivered tangible benefits to their employer – and are recognised as future leaders.

Winner: Louise Jamieson, Total E&P UK Ltd

  • Sam Ash, Nexen Petroleum UK Ltd
  • Kevin Crawford, Nexen Petroleum UK Ltd


This award recognises the graduates making their mark in the UK oil and gas industry; those who have delivered tangible benefits to their employer – and are recognised as future leaders.

Winner: Sarah-Alice Davies, Shell UK Limited

  • Conan Cooper, Total E&P UK Ltd
  • Richard Eckersley, Nexen Petroleum UK Ltd

Mentor of the Year 2016

This award recognises the vital role mentors play in passing on their knowledge and expertise to the next generation of people in the oil and gas industry, and the extraordinary commitment of these individuals to learning and improvement across the industry.

Winner: Girish Kabra, Centrica

  • Alan Smith, Total E&P UK Ltd
  • Fiona Wong, Shell UK Limited

Workforce EngagementECITB main logo-01

This award recognises the outstanding steps taken by companies to involve their people, give them a voice in the organisation and develop an empowering culture, delivering tangible commercial and reputational benefits for the company.


Winner: Merlin Energy Resources Ltd

  • Apollo
  • PEAK Ltd

Workforce Engagement – Large Enterprise

Winner: Nexen Petroleum UK Ltd

  • Bilfinger Salamis UK
  • Chevron North Sea Ltd

Business Innovation and Efficiency

This award recognises a company which has enabled improved performance through innovation and efficiency initiatives, while using sustainable methods developed to safely maximise recovery from the UK Continental Shelf.


Winner: Cyberhawk Innovations

  • Photosynergy Ltd
  • Safehouse Habitats Scotland Ltd

Business Innovation & Efficiency – Large Enterprise

Winner: Centrica

  • Peterson UK Ltd
  • Maersk Oil/Amec Foster Wheeler/Bilfinger Salamis and Scopus

Diversity and Inclusiveness

This award recognises a company that drives improved business results through recognising and promoting the value of diverse teams and inclusive behaviours.

Winner: Amec Foster Wheeler

  • Centrica
  • Shell UK Limited

MER UK AwardOGA-logo-hi-res

This award recognises those companies whose cooperative approach and positive behaviours have helped to maximise the economic recovery of oil and gas from the UKCS. We’re looking for companies who have demonstrated strong leadership in pioneering successful new ways of working that can be shared and adopted across the industry.

Winners: BP and Partners (Shell, Esso, JX Nippon, Zennor) – ETAP Area and ConocoPhillips (U.K.) Limited and Partners – Southern Wye Project

  • Apache North Sea – Redevelopment of the Forties Field
  • CATS Management Limited – The Central Area Transmission System (CATS)

Significant Contribution to the Oil and Gas Industry 2016

Special award to mark the 10th anniversary of the Oil & Gas UK Awards.

Winner: Jeremy Cresswell, Press & Journal